country of young


Herman, Bridget, Anthony

Herman is 17 years old and takes care of his two siblings who are five and seven years old. Herman's father died after his birth and the father of the younger ones died a couple years ago. His mother died two months ago because of AIDS. Herman heads one of many households in Uganda managed by children.

 

(c) Photo: Stefan Pleger

Godfrey and Rosemary

About two years ago, Fr. Joseph gave Rosemary the extreme unction. She stoped taking her AIDS medicine to be able to pay for the education of her children. Thanks to the help of the Austrian Relief Organisation, and thanks to the commitment from Fr. Joseph, she takes her medicine again. Because she is still very weak, Godfrey, her 14 year old son has to take care of the housework. He takes care of the chickens, fetches water and tills the little banana field.

(c) Photo: Stefan Pleger

Ceasar Lukango

Ceasar is the headmaster from St. Mary's School in Zigoti. He is also the teacher of Herman and his siblings. In cooperation with an Austrian Relief Organization, Ceasar takes also care of orphans who have AIDS.

Lazarus and his five children

Lazarus is 67 years old, and he takes care of five children, who are his neices and nephews. His brother died of AIDS. Because of his old age, he is not able to do a lot. This is the reason why the children have to take care of water, food, the housekeeping as well as the financial income.

 

Fr. Joseph Ssekannyo

He manages a parish which is as big as Tyrol. Besides offering Catholic mass, he provides medical help as well as AIDS consulting. To be able to get to the parishioners, he has to ride a Enduro- motorcycle, because there are no streets.

Harriet Nabalende*

Harriet has been HIV positive since 1999. Her deceased husband infected her. As a teacher she provides educational work, pro bono in schools in Uganda.

*not part of 20min version

country of young


Herman, Bridget, Anthony

Mit 17 Jahren kümmert sich Herman um seine beiden 5 und 7 Jahre alten Geschwister. Sein Vater starb nach seiner Geburt, der Vater der beiden Kleinen vor einigen Jahren. Die Mutter erlag vor 2 Monaten der Immunschwächekrankheit. Herman leitet nun einen von vielen Kinderhaushalten in Uganda.

(c) Photo: Stefan Pleger

Godfrey und Rosemary

Rosemary bekam von Fr. Joseph vor 2 Jahren die letzte Ölung. Sie hatte ihre AIDS-Medikamente abgesetzt um ihren Kindern die Schulausbildung zu finanzieren. Dank Hilfe aus Österreich und des Einsatzes von Fr.Joseph nimmt sie nun wieder ihre Medikamente. Da sie aber immernoch sehr schwach ist, wird der Haushalt von dem 14-jährigen Sohn Godfrey geleitet. Er versorgt die Hühner, holt Wasser und bestellt das kleine Bananenfeld.

(c) Photo: Stefan Pleger

Ceasar Lukango

Ceasar ist der Schuldirektor der St.Mary's Schule in Zigoti. Er ist auch der Lehrer von Herman und seinen Geschwistern. Neben seiner Tätigkeit als Direktor, kümmert er sich - zusammen mit einer Hilfsorganisation aus Österreich - um Waisenkinder die an AIDS erkrankt sind.

Lazarus und seine 5 Kinder

Lazarus kümmert sich mit 67 Jahren um die 5 Kinder seines an AIDS verstorbenen Bruders. Da er wegen seines hohen Alters selbst kaum noch etwas tun kann, müssen die Kinder für Wasser, Nahrung, den Haushalt und die finanziellen Einkünfte sorgen.

Fr. Joseph Ssekannyo

Betreut seine Kirchengemeinde von der Größe Tirols. Neben katholischen Messen, leistet er auch medizinische Hilfe und Beratungen in AIDS-Fragen. Um zu seinen Gemeindemitgliedern zu kommen, muss er auf ein Enduro-Motorrad zurück greifen, da es keine Straßen gibt.

Harriet Nabalende*

Ist seit 1999 HIV positiv. Ihr verstorbener Ehemann hatte sie angesteckt. Als Lehrerin leistet sie ehrenamtlich Aufklärungsarbeit in ugandischen Schulen.


*nicht Teil der 20min Version